SM Militants have expressed optimistic views on winning the AfroPop Song of the Year Award for ‘Thunder Fire’ at the much-anticipated 2019 Vodafone Ghana Music Awards.

Photo Credit: Rogue Lens
Photo Credit: Rogue Lens

Addi Self, speaking on behalf of the group, in an interview with admitted that the category was a highly competitive one but nevertheless, they believed in the ongoing mass voting by the Shatta Movement fans and are rest assured of taking home the award.

He confirmed upon being asked whether they were surprised about the nomination, “not really, because we knew Thunder Fire was one of the biggest songs in 2018 and it deserves it”.

The AfroPop Song of the Year category includes Tokyo by King Promise, Akwaaba by GuiltyBeatz, Uber Driver by Wendy Shay, Yenkor by DJ Mic Smith, Don’t Keep Me Waiting by Kwesi Arthur, That Thing by Article Wan and Come & See My Mother by MzVee.